Metal Gear Solid: Master Collection Vol. 1

Game: Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Vol. 1

Platform: PlayStation 5, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X and Series S, PC

Rating: M for Mature

Cost: $59.99

The master of stealth returns in a much anticipated high-definition collection consisting of five classic games (and bonus content) that outline the origins of Metal Gear. The legendary series returns at 1080P and 30 to 60 FPS (frames per second), and it all begins with Solid Snake, a member of a special unit with orders to infiltrate a hostile nation that has a bipedal tank with the ability to launch nuclear missiles. 

Metal Gear

Metal Gear is set in 1995, and it is here when we meet Solid Snake as a rookie and where, for the first-time, stealth gameplay is utilized as a core component in this groundbreaking title with the objective to destroy the weapon.  Created by Hideo Kojima and developed/published by Konami, Metal Gear was first released in 1987 in Japan and Europe, and 36 years later remains a classic outing for gamers to enjoy.  The weapon known as Metal Gear is a walking tank that has the ability to launch a nuclear weapon wherever it is located, and it is up to rookie Snake to find the weapon, photograph it and report back his observations with the end goal of destroying it.

Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake

After the success of Metal Gear, this second iteration continues to follow Solid Snake who has disbanded from FOXHOUND—a special forces unit—to go after his enemy Big Boss.  It is through this narrative the player unfolds a diabolical motive behind Big Boss’ actions.  Stealth is even more of an imperative game, and while the last outing focused on not being seen, the second game also utilizes the sound of Snake’s movements as a method of detection.

Metal Gear Solid (Including VR Missions/Special Missions)

Solid Snake was ready to retire and live a life of isolation, but those plans are discarded when he takes on what may be his last mission to close the story of his nemesis Big Boss.  The mission, entitled “the Shadow Moses Incident,” discloses the secret behind Solid Snake’s birth and reunites  him with his brother Liquid Snake.

Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (HD Collection version)

Two major events unfold in Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, a new Metal Gear is unveiled as well as a new rookie enlisted in a special forces agency FOXHOUND. His name is Raiden and his mission is to take down a group of terrorists and perhaps encounter the legendary Snake in person.

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (HD Collection version)

How did the saga of Snake begin? Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater we learn how Naked Snake earned the moniker as Big Boss through tropical missions set in a dangerous jungle. With every iteration in the series, more methods of stealth are incorporated, and this time players can use uniforms and face paint to sneakily pass by enemies.

Bonus Content

This vast collection only represents one part of the Metal Gear series, so while players bask in the fun of volume 1, there are two additional sets of bonus content to enjoy. Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Vol. 1 includes the original NES/FC version of Metal Gear and Snake’s Revenge.


Fans of the renowned Hideo Kojima and his legendary series Metal Gear are able to have hours of nostalgic enjoyment in high definition, and as another layer of enjoyment, are able to play the first game exactly how it was first released for the NES.

Dean Moses